Español  /  English  /  French
Select Team:

       Home     News     Event Guide     Schedule     Standings     Players     Teams     Leaders     History     Road to Rio  

More News

Tuesday, March 03, 2015
Results of the Draw for the FIBA Americas Women’s Championship
by: FIBA

San Juan, Puerto Rico - Today, March 3, 2015, the Draw for the 2015 FIBA Americas Women’s Championship was held at Edmonton City Hall.

The 2015 FIBA Americas Women’s Championship will be played from August 9 to 16 at the Saville Community Sports Centre, in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada and will count with the participation of Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, US Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, Venezuela and the host, Canada.

The draw can be viewed in its entirety at:

The Groups of the Continental Championship, that is a qualifier for the 2016 Rio de Janiero Olympic Games, were set as follows:

Group A: Cuba, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic, Chile, Canada
Group B: Argentina, Venezuela, Virgin Islands, Ecuador, Brazil

At the draw, the teams were divided into two groups that will play a first round of round-robin within the group. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the semifinals where the first place of Group A will play the second place of Group B and vice versa. The semifinal winners will advance to the Grand Final, while the losing teams will play for the bronze medal.


 Event Guide
 System of Competition

 © 2015 :: FIBA AMERICAS :: PO Box 8925 :: Fernández Juncos Station :: Santurce, Puerto Rico :: 00910
 Address :: 628 Avenida Escorial :: Caparra Heights :: San Juan, Puerto Rico :: 00920
 Phone : (1-787) 977- 4999 :: FAX: (1-787) 977 - 4007   Email: