Español  /  English  /  French
Select Team:

       Home     News     Event Guide     Schedule     Standings     Players     Teams     Leaders     History     Road to Rio  

More News

Wednesday, July 01, 2015
#FIBAAmericasWomen2015 - Ecuador get ready to make history
by: FIBA

QUITO (2015 FIBA Americas Women's Championship) - Ecuador will for the first time this summer have a team at the FIBA Americas Women's Championship.

The team is still flying high, remembering what happened this past November when they got a vital win over Mexico in a qualifying game to clinch a spot in Edmonton.

Ecuador did not just need a victory over the Mexicans, but to win by more than nine points.
They prevailed, 72-61.

When Eduardo Pinto's team arrives in Canada for the event to be staged 9-16 August, it will be big underdogs in a Group B that has the Virgin Islands, Argentina, Venezuela and Brazil.

The preliminary squad for Ecuador includes Dayanna Salcedo, the second-leading scorer at last year's South American Championship for Women, as well as the team's second-leading scorer, Rossana Pazmino.

Marjorie Caicedo, who was just named MVP of the Liga Femenina Finals after leading UTE to a 3-0 sweep of Santa Maria, is in preliminary squad.

Caicedo also played at last year's South American Championship for Women.

One of her UTE teammates, Karla Yepez, is on the preliminary list as well.

A player who has represented Ecuador at youth level, including the 2013 South American U17 Championship for Women, Yepez is hoping to make the senior team for the competition in Canada.

She and the other 15 other players in training, battling for a spot on the roster.

"Everyone wants a place," Yepez said, "but it's important and good to have competition because it brings up the standard so that the 12 that are finally chosen are at their best level.

"The motivation is good, the food is good and the treatment we receive is good."

Ecuador preliminary squad for FIBA Americas Women's Championship: Paola Andrade, Liliana Angulo, Anabel Barahona, Marjorie Caicedo, Flor Chum, Doris Lasso, Leyda Macias, Maria Mora, Andrea Munoz, Edith Noblecilla, Tatiana Patino, Rossana Pazmino, Jessica Preciado, Dayana Salcedo, Maria Vinueza and Karla Yepez.



 Event Guide
 System of Competition

 © 2015 :: FIBA AMERICAS :: PO Box 8925 :: Fernández Juncos Station :: Santurce, Puerto Rico :: 00910
 Address :: 628 Avenida Escorial :: Caparra Heights :: San Juan, Puerto Rico :: 00920
 Phone : (1-787) 977- 4999 :: FAX: (1-787) 977 - 4007   Email: